top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvi

Listen To Silence. It Has So Much To Say. (Rumi)

Updated: Jun 4, 2020

Day 1 of Level 3 of Covid-19 Lockdown in South Africa. Most people are allowed to return to work, we can finally buy more than the bare essentials and leave the house for exercise at almost any time of the day. Many things are still restricted (I do miss road trips and the beach most!). And having to wear a mask whenever you leave the house proves to be quite tough. Who would have thought that we would find ourselves in the middle of a pandemic just a few months ago? And that life would literally change from one day to another?


With a job and a roof over my head, I can consider myself very lucky. And today seemed like such a normal day that I almost forgot about the virus. As life starts to get busier and louder again, I am looking back at the past weeks (I honestly have lost count how many) and am wondering what they tried to teach me.


The truth is, I needed the break. Life had got too hectic. Juggling work (with many changes over the past months), my first ever building project converting a garage into a little studio flat (a disaster and fun at the same time), and having to go through the tough process of applying for Permanent Residence (a life project in itself) - I was literally on the brink of throwing in the towel. But just on the brink. Because I am too tough to give up. I would never allow myself to fail. I would rather fall over. And that is not always the best attitude.


Lockdown made me stop. Stop for real. Take a break without fear of missing out. Because the whole world was coming to a halt. And honestly... it felt so good. I slept in (which means I got up at 7 :D), I started the day with slow yoga or meditation, I took time to prepare healthy meals, I journaled, I read a lot of books, I took photographs in my garden, I sunbathed and napped, I spent a lot of time cuddling and playing with my cats. I even started running again (in circles in the garden :D). And slowly my mind came back to a peaceful state. I was able to think clearly again and look at my life with the necessary distance. And I believe this to be so crucial in a world that is racing all the time. A world that is so loud. Telling you consciously and subconsciously who to be, what to want, how to live, how to look. But is that also what I want? Does it make me happy? What makes me happy?


Lockdown showed me that I do not need much. It showed me that solitude and silence can be so beautiful. It showed me who I truly miss (and if they miss me too :D), and who I can count on. It showed me that a day needs so little to be just about perfect. It showed me how important it is to pause to just reflect. And that put all into perspective and made me adapt my outlook on life once again.


I believe that the toughest times bring with them the greatest lessons to learn, the most growth and hence real happiness in the very moment when you realize that you overcame all the obstacles against all odds. Tough times bring opportunities for change. And we can influence whether this change is positive or negative. All we need to do is to believe in our very own power. And our power starts with our mindset. We can move mountains if we decide to take action and control over our own life. Would I want to go back in time if I could? No, I want to go on to a better future. One that I create myself.


44 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page