top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvi

If Money Was No Object...

Yesterday, I asked on Facebook what you would do if money was no object. This question made me think and ponder... even more so in times like this.


If money was no object, I would start my day early, but way slower. I would go for a walk every morning, either through the neighbourhood or along the beach and through the bush. With one of my dear friends. And sometimes also alone. Or I would go for a swim in the pool if the sun is out early. I would take the time to have breakfast and a cup of coffee on my deck, watch my cats and the birds in my garden and journal for a bit. To collect my thoughts (of which there are always too many :D) and write down my goals for the day. I would meditate or do a short round of yoga before I face the world.


If money was no object, I would learn more about all the things I enjoy because I love learning. I'd take courses in photography, writing, foreign languages, healthy living, DIY, arts and design. I'd read a million books. And a million more.


If money was no object, I would see my friends more often. Catch up over coffee or a glass of G&T, listen to each other's stories and laugh a lot.


If money was no object, I'd spend a huge amount of time outside in nature, soaking in the sound of the ocean, trees, and bush. I'd disappear for a few days here and then to give my soul a break and enjoy the solitude.


If money was no object, I would start to travel a lot more all over. There are still so many places on my bucket list, as diverse as can be. I'd travel to Bali and Myanmar, New Zealand, Brazil, Costa Rica and to a whole lot more countries in Africa, such as Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania and Malawi. And I'd spend more time road tripping through South Africa. Spontaneously, without a set destination.


If money was no object, I would turn my house and garden upside down and make it a cozy and colourful happy oasis and refuge. I would spend more time with my cats. And I would adopt a dog or two. In fact, my dream of South Africa always included me walking a labrador along the beach.


If money was no object, I'd spend more time with my mom in Germany, maybe a summer month. Or we would explore South Africa together.


If money was no object, I'd still be working. But I'd spend more time on training, coaching and developing people. Not to make them a better functioning part of society but to grow them for themselves and make them believe that they can achieve anything if only they put their mind on it.


If money was no object, life would be pretty awesome. But maybe, we do not need that much money anyways? As Henry David Thoreau said "The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it". And that is something we should remember all over again every single day...




54 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page