top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvi

A Trip Into Freedom And Hogsback's Magical Mountains

It has been a week already, but time has started racing again since lockdown has been easened. And so I could not find a break to write. About my first glimpse of freedom and another magical trip to Hogsback.


Hogsback is a sleepy and dreamy little village about a one and a half hour trip from East London. It is said that it has been one of the places of inspiration for the Lord of the Rings, and there are a lot of signs of hobbits, fairies and other creatures to be found.


Numerous trips have taken me there. With friends, with my mom, even for a yoga retreat. For hiking, for Christmas in July cooking away Haloumi Curry with a dear friend, for planting trees, for parkruns. For a day, or for a whole weekend! Hogsback is a place I cherish!


The roadtrip was a rather spontaneous decision on Saturday morning. I picked up my friend Ros, and we quickly went to our favourite coffee stop to grab Cappuccinos, mini donuts and mini banana breads for the road. Time goes fast if you are chatting away and so we reached Hogsback in no time at all.


Our first destination was The Edge, a cliff with the most beautiful views of the valley and surrounding mountains. It was windy and quite cold, and I was so excited to be able to wear my beanie. You might laugh reading this. But after all, I am German. And sometimes I really do miss winter and snow and cozy coats and winter boots :D


There is no trip to Hogsback without walking The Edge's Labyrinth. Without cheating. (Even though I love to cheat and take shortcuts wherever possible and not too obvious!) And there is also no trip to Hogsback without going to the Chocolate Shop and filling a box with your favourite choices of treats! (Which, in my case, will be all gobbled up within the very same day!)


Next we were off to "Away with the Fairies" and its famous bathtub with a view for a quick photoshoot. And then into the forest to walk to Big Tree, a huuuuge beautiful Yellowwood!


Hiking amongst the trees of Hogsback is special to me. Nature has become such an important part of my life since I have grown older. It gives me peace. I love the smell, the sounds, the silence and solitude. In fact, I could have just stayed on. For at least a week. Just with a book and firewood in a little cabin. Hogsback and its mountains and forests also remind me of Germany. And maybe that is what makes it even more precious to me.


Unfortunately, we never made it to the hike's final destination, Madonna and Child Waterfall. We got scared off by screaming baboons, which seemed to get closer and closer. Instead we decided to tackle the fall from the other side via a steep route down a hill (and unfortunately but obviously up the hill thereafter :D) But literally everything in Hogsback is worth the sweat! And I loved to spend a few minutes listening to the falling and flowing water.


What made the trip even more special was the fact that it was the first one after lockdown. And how I loved to hit the road again and just drive! It felt like exploring the world from scratch and there was immense beauty in this experience... I am still grateful for how the lockdown has opened my eyes again. And made them aware and see things that I have started to overlook in all the hustle and bustle of our crazy lives. I honestly cannot wait to get back! And I honestly cannot wait to explore more! And to just breathe... freedom, peace and tranquility!




40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page