top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvi

Down The Memory Lane

"We are what we remember. If we lose our memory, we lose our identity and our identity is the accumulation of our experiences. When we walk down the memory lane, it can be unconsciously, willingly, selectively, impetuously or sometimes grudgingly. By following our stream of consciousness we look for lost time and things past. Some reminiscences anchor points that can take another scope with the wisdom of hindsight.

--- Erik Pevernagie

 

I have always wanted to sort through the million of pictures I have taken throughout my life. And I have always wanted to write down all the memories. Not only to somehow preserve them. But also to make sense of everything that has happened. To uncover and remember moments and people that I have long forgotten about. And to connect the dots to understand how all these puzzle pieces have let me to where and who I am today. But you must know I want a million things. And I want them all at once. So I never got around to start this project. Or maybe I was not ready for it either?


A few days ago, a friend tagged me in a "Ten Favourite Travel Pictures" Challenge on Facebook. I could not keep to ten. I browsed through photographs of more than twenty years. It was an overwhelming feeling that I cannot quite describe. And I think this is what brought me here. Thank you, Janice. I am now trying to embrace the challenge of sorting my forever scattered mind, sit down and write. Today, it will be a rough list of life events. Some of them you might know about, some of them will be new to you.


And here it goes:

  • I was born and bred in the small town of Blankenburg in the northeast of Germany, or to be more specific in former Eastern Germany. I had just turned nine when the Wall came down (now you can do the maths…). I sometimes wonder how life would have been like if history had taken another turn. Maybe I would now live in Russia, Lao or Cuba... I never really liked school. I think I was one of the odd ones out and considered a bit of an eager beaver. But school just came easy to me. Life consisted of hanging around and chilling with friends. Really, there was not too much to do. But I guess this is the feeling of nearly every teenager who just wants to grow up, get out and explore the world.

  • I graduated on a Friday and found myself on a plane to the United States on a Monday (I told you about the escapism). For the next two years I was an Au Pair to a little boy in the state of Virginia, took random classes at college, made many great friends and practically travelled the whole country. The time in the States was awesome. It made me independent. It showed me that I can achieve things on my own. And that there is so much more beyond of what I had previously known. And I think that was what fueled me to explore more.

  • I returned to Germany in 2001 and started my Bachelor studies in International Business Management in a small town in the south of Germany. We were an awesome crowd of thirty students, from nearly every corner of the world. We studied, hung out and partied together. And then all of us ventured out into the world again. For study abroad semesters and internships. I spent six months taking classes at the University of Queensland in Brisbane, Australia and worked for another five months at the German-Malaysian Chamber of Commerce in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I have never experienced more exciting times. It was life in the fast lane. Especially Asia took my breath away. It was different in all possible ways. I ended this time of my life backpacking through Singapore, Thailand, Lao and Cambodia. Just writing about it makes me want to go back so badly.

  • After I had finished my Bachelor studies, I did a crazy hours internship at McKinsey and then started a Master Programme in Industrial Engineering. It was a pure German and at the same time tough experience. I am laughing just thinking about it. After all I have realized that I am more interested in the people side of things. I am by no means a great engineer, I guess. But I made it and am proud of sticking it out and not giving up.

  • Work life started at an automotive supplier and I honestly fell into a depression. I hated every minute of it. But I could not quite put a finger on why at that very moment. Luckily, I was courageous enough to leave quickly. In 2009, I joined Daimler. And it was at Daimler, where I discovered my passion for problem solving, training and coaching - a combination of deep analytical and at the same time people work. I was part of an amazing team with a manager that up to today has had a great influence on my life and career. It was a time of growth and never-ending learning.

  • And then I traveled on the Baz Bus through South Africa ...




99 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page