top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvi

About Giraffes (And How They Say Hi)

I adore giraffes! I have been lucky enough to see many of them during various game drives over the past years. I have watched them run (with their legs flying all over the place), fight (with their hooves getting stuck between the horns of their opponent) and drink (making acrobatic moves to reach the water). And I must have taken at least a hundred pictures of them - in all poses you could ever imagine.


The most exhilarating giraffe experience, however, was my encounter with Abby. Abby is a giraffe boy that was hand raised at Areena Riverside Resort, just outside of East London. He is a bit of a celebrity amongst visitors. And known to be quite naughty. I had met him on different occassions - peaking into a car, running after us on a quad bike tour through the reserve, approaching strangers for treats. Abby just loves people. And attention. And he "forgets" about his size (and weight).


A few years back, we spent our team workshop at Areena. It was an awesome outing, and when the day came to an end, we left in high spirits. I do not know why but I was the last one to start my journey back home. I drove along the dirt road, singing along to some song on the radio. And then I spotted him in the distance. Abby was trotting slowly towards me. I stopped the car, watched him come closer and took a few pictures. It was a peaceful evening, and it made me happy to see him again. He came closer until he eventually reached the car, and he peaked straight into the window. I think that was the moment when my heart started to beat a bit faster. I realized the sheer size of him. And that I was alone, with noone in sight. But that heartbeat was nothing compared to the adrenaline rush that hit me when he leisurely lifted his hoof and placed it onto my bonnet, and then the windshield. I honestly cannot remember what I thought in that very moment. I still managed to take another picture, but then a bit of panic creeped in. I was wondering how I should react. I was shaking and praying... and trying to not stop breathing until he took his hoof off again, placing it gently on the ground but still lingering around right next to my car. I started the engine and began to move - very slowly at first, then quicker. I thought I was going to die. In fact, my heartbeat did not slow down until I reached town, after about a twenty minute drive. I was a bit out of my mind, I am telling you!


I took the car for a check the very next day. And I was glad that I took the picture because noone wanted to believe what had happened to me. Imagine claiming from insurance stating a giraffe stood on your bonnet!! Funny enough, the damage was considered normal wear and tear. So I figured that Abby had really just wanted to say hi and that this was his way of a gentle handshake...



119 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page