top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvi

A Story (Or Two) About Leopards

I love Facebook memories. They bring back all the sweet moments of the past. Today they brought back the day I saw a leopard for the very first time in my life. It happened on the second of two days exploring Kruger National Park during my very first visit to South Africa. We had already been very lucky and encountered lions on the hunt during a night drive and wild dogs fighting with a group of hyenas. On the second day, our guide focused on finding the last two of the Big Five for us - the rhino and the leopard. The day had already drawn to an end, and we were just about to head to the gate and back to the lodge when we saw a number of cars parked on the road ahead of us. We approached slowly and there he was... a leopard sleeping in the grass just a few meters away from us. Almost perfectly hidden away. We were waiting for a few minutes, hoping for him to arise from his slumber. Time was working against us. The park was just about to close, and our guide wanted to leave. But just in the very moment when he started the truck, the leopard began to move. First lifting his head to scan his surroundings, then stretching, getting up and walking slowly towards the road. He passed our truck. He was so close, I could have almost reached out to touch him. It was a breathtaking experience. I had never seen a stronger, more majestic and beautiful animal in my whole life before. I was mesmerized. I took in every bit of the moment and managed to take a few pictures, one of them still my most favourite wildlife photograph ever.


My second leopard encounter was a bit more adventurous. I took part in a Wild Camping Safari in Botswana, and we had arrived at one of our last destinations - Chobe National Park. We set up camp about a kilometre or two away from a group of lions that we had passed on our way. We heard them roar while we were busy making and eating supper. I remember us sitting around the table wondering and joking about what it would be like if those lions would visit us during the night. If only we had known what was about to happen just about two hours later! Soon after, we went to our tents to go to sleep. Not much time had passed until I heard something like a big bang, recurring noises and people talking in low voices. I could not make out what was happening until our guide came and told us to stay exactly where we were. A leopard had decided to join us, and after walking around the campground and checking out the camping kitchen equipment, he was now sleeping in the back row of our truck. It turned out to be a long night. And scary as hell. I did not dare to move a bit. I did not even dare to breathe properly. I felt like every sign of life from one of the tents could lure the leopard to come check us out. But somehow time passed eventually. The night turned into day. And our visitor decided to return into the bush. We were free again!! And excited to discover signs and proof of his visit. Paw prints, leopard hair in the truck and a chewed up flip flop... When we continued our drive later during the day we met this majestic animal again. Snoozing on a tree!


Leopards have since fascinated me. When I started my yoga and meditation journey they have continued to reappear as images during visualization exercises. What does a leopard symbolize? For me it is strength, independence, fearlessness, the ability to walk by oneself and to overcome obstacles. But also the acceptance of all of one's spots. Most of all, however, the leopard is a free and wild animal... And I think that is what I love most!



73 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page